Getting Healthy: Cucumber Lemon Water, my new must have…

Photo Credit: Keli Marie

Photo Credit: Keli Marie

A couple of weeks ago I read a post on Tia and Tamera Mowry’s blog that challenged the readers to swap out their coffee or tea for a hot cup of lemon water each morning. They listed all the befits of drinking lemon water, so I decided to give it a try. Needless to say, based on the title of this post, I loved it and even decided to take it a step further after I had a couple of cucumber slices lying around from my morning juicing that I like to do occasionally. (I will post about juicing at a later date because if you don’t do it you should definitely start!) 🙂

Normally I start out with a hot cup of lemon and cucumber water in the morning to get my system cleansed and get my metabolism going, and then I just pour off the left over lemon and cucumbers into my water cup and replenish the water throughout the day as I drink it. If you are like I was and have a hard time drinking enough water throughout the day, this could help with that. I swear (because as you all know I don’t B.S. lol) that I have been drinking at least 6 rounds of water in my water cup each day since I started! *pats myself on the back* On the twins blog they say you should drink a cup of hot lemon water in the evening before bed as well, but just like my continued effort in being more like Jesus, I am not there yet, as my family knows you will be lucky if I don’t fall asleep in my clothes somewhere around the house, so the last thing I am thinking about at the end of the day is making another cup of hot lemon and cucumber water. Seriously.

Rather than list all the benefits of drinking this little concoction I will just tell you why I drink it and list some references for you to check out on your own if you want more details on the benefits. So the reason I like drinking this is because one I feel better about knowing I am at least making one good food decision at the start of my day by switching the water for my coffee or tea. Two, it promotes weight loss and at the end of the day, yes I want to be healthy, but losing weight is what I care about most, sue me. Three, it cleanses my insides and I love feeling like my innards are cleaned, lol.

Any who if you want to know more about the benefits here are a list of sites to checkout for more info:

Why drink cucumber water

Benefits of lemon water

Lemon water swap

If any of you decide to try this, please let me know how it goes for you in the comment section, I am interested to know how much it impacts your water intake throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

